Mayor's Office

The Mayor of the City of Mount Clemens is elected at large to serve a two-year term. The Mayor is one member of a non-partisan, seven member City Commission. The City Commission makes policy decisions, taking into account the best interests of the City and its residents.

Duties of the Mayor’s Office include:

  • Authorized signer of agreements, resolutions and other official documents
  • Appoint and reappoint volunteer members to the City’s various boards, committees and commissions
  • Create and format proclamations and resolutions for various reasons including retiring employees, milestone anniversaries and birthdays, residents, designation of special days, in support of issues, or for other official purposes (When requesting a proclamation, please allow ample time to complete it as well as provide sufficient information and contact information)
  • Meet with administrators from other communities and local, state and federal representatives
  • Attend social events as a representative of the City of Mount Clemens
  • Member of the Downtown Development Authority and Retirement Board of Trustees
  • Speak at area social events which have included functions at Selfridge, grand openings and ribbon cutting ceremonies
  • Perform marriage ceremonies


The Mayor of Mount Clemens has the granted authority from the State of Michigan to perform marriage ceremonies. Most weddings are scheduled at the Gazebo, on the riverfront of the City Hall property. However, the Mayor can perform ceremonies anywhere in Macomb County. The fee to have the Mayor preside over a wedding is $100.00 for residents and $150.00 for non-residents, made payable to the City of Mount Clemens. If a couple is interested in requesting the Mayor, please contact the Mayor’s Office at (586) 469-6818 extension 7. Please see the Treasurer’s Office page if you are interested in reserving the Gazebo.

Mayor Laura Kropp is the 41st Mayor of Mount Clemens since it was incorporated in 1879. (A complete list of the past Mayors of Mount Clemens is listed below.) She is the youngest Mayor to date, and only the fourth female Mayor in the City’s history. Laura Kropp has been a resident of Mount Clemens since 2001.

She began her public service career in 2009 as a School Board Trustee for Mount Clemens Community Schools. A timeline of her career as an elected official is as follows:

· Elected to the School Board 2009
· Served as City Commissioner 2015-2019
· Elected Mayor in 2019

During the time she spends at City Hall, Mayor Kropp’s door and phone lines are always open to the public. She takes an interest in assisting citizens with their issues or complaints in any way she can. If you would like to set up a meeting, please contact her office.

Mayor Kropp holds twice monthly Coffee Talks With the Mayor at John’s Family Grill (304 Cass Ave., Mount Clemens). The coffee talks are held the second Tuesday of the month at 9:30 a.m. Also, the second Thursday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

Mayor Kropp is a supporter of many organizations within Mount Clemens such as The Anton Art Center, The Crocker House, and Turning Point.

On a personal note, Laura and her husband Paul own a local cabinetry business in town. They have two sons Jack 12 and Miles 9 years old. In her spare time away from the office, Laura is an avid cook and loves to spend time with her family, entertaining and boating at their cottage on Lake St. Clair.

The Mayors of Mount Clemens (Since being Incorporated in 1879)

  • Joshua Dickinson Apr. 1879 – May 1879
  • George M. Crocker Jun. 1879 – Apr. 1881
  • Spencer Booth Russell Apr. 1881 – Apr. 1883
  • Colonel Judson S. Farrar Apr. 1883 – Apr. 1885
  • John E. Van Eps Apr. 1885 – Apr. 1887
  • George W. Robertson Apr. 1887 – Apr. 1888
  • William J. Daley Apr. 1888 – Apr. 1889
  • Thomas M. Crocker Apr. 1889 – Apr. 1891
  • Dr. A. B. Chapin Apr. 1891 – Apr. 1892
  • Dr. William C. Tennant Apr. 1892 – Apr. 1894
  • Andrew True Donaldson Apr. 1894 – Apr. 1898
  • Dr. W. D. Wilson Apr. 1898 – Apr. 1899
  • Reuben C. Ullrich Apr. 1899 – Apr. 1901
  • Dr. William F. Berry Apr. 1901 – Apr. 1902
  • Martin Crocker Apr. 1902 – Apr. 1903
  • Dr. Albert A. Parisot Apr. 1903 – Apr. 1904
  • John H. Westendorf Apr. 1904 – Apr. 1906
  • Varnum J. Bowers Apr. 1906 – Apr. 1909
  • Paul J. Ullrich Apr. 1909 – Apr. 1911
  • Varnum Bowers Apr. 1911 – Apr. 1912
  • Duncan B. Hubbard Apr. 1912 – Apr. 1913
  • William F. Nank Apr. 1913 – Apr. 1916
  • Varnum J. Bowers Apr. 1916 – Apr. 1917
  • Dr. Albert Parisot Apr. 1917 – Apr. 1918
  • A. Frank Sarns Apr. 1918 – Apr. 1923
  • William M. Streit Apr. 1923 – Apr. 1931
  • Charles R. Ullrich Apr. 1931 – Jan 1934
  • Donald R. Westendorf Apr. 1934 – Apr. 1945
  • Albert A. Wagner Apr. 1945 – Apr.1951
  • Philip T. Mulligan Apr. 1951 – Apr. 1955
  • Harold “Bugs” Lindsey Apr. 1955 – Apr. 1957
  • Harry T. Diehl Apr. 1957 – Apr. 1961
  • Abraham S. Levine Apr. 1961 – Nov.1973
  • Bert VandeVusse Nov. 1973 – Nov. 1981
  • Ada ( Davis) Eisenfeld Nov. 1981 – Nov. 1985
  • Jeanne (Russo) Nelson Nov. 1985 – Nov. 1987
  • Quinnie E. Cody Nov. 1987 – Nov. 1999
  • Harry T. Diehl, Jr. Nov. 1999 – Nov. 2003
  • Quinnie E. Cody Nov. 2003 – Nov. 2005
  • Barbel (Lohan) Dempsey Nov. 2005 - 2019
  • Laura Kropp - 2019 - Present

Source: The Mayors of Mount Clemens presented by The Rotary Club of Mount Clemens and The 175th Anniversary Committee.